Foody Goody Treats

The Quinoa Chronicles… Pt. 1

Posted on: July 23, 2012

So, I know that I am extremely behind the times, but I recently tasted quinoa and fell head over heels with it! And due to my new discovery, I will share with you all the many recipes that I create/try in an attempt to enjoy this savory grain! The first one (actually 2) is a “salad” that I made, but with 2 different dressings. The great thing about this salad is that you can use it as a “fridge cleaner”, just using what veggies you have on hand! So, let’s begin!

Salad Base:
1 cup uncooked quinoa, washed and drained (I bought a pre-washed pack)
2 cups water (or chicken/vegetable broth)
5 cherry tomatoes (more if you like tomatoes, I’m not a big fan of them though)
5-7 large black olives
1/4 medium red onion
1 clove of garlic, minced
3-5 sprigs of cilantro (parsley might be better w/ this, but I love cilantro, not parsley lol)

Dressing #1:
1/8 cup lime juice
1/8 cup Wildtree Roasted Garlic Grapeseed Oil
1 tsp Wildtree Cajun Seasoning (more if like a little kick!)

Dressing #2:
1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
1/8 cup Wildtree Zesty Lemon Grapeseed Oil

Directions:
Cook quinoa according to package directions (usually 15 minutes once water/broth has begun boiling). Coarsely chop all ingredients, and with the exception of the cilantro and tomatoes, add to a bowl. Once quinoa is done, mix with vegetables, then gently mix in the tomatoes and cilantro. Mix the dressings together and then drizzle over salad, stir to coat. Can be served hot or cold. Feel free to adjust any of the veggies to your tastes/preferences… I’m a garlic, onions, and cilantro kind of gal, but you may like other ingredients… just make it your own!

In the picture below I have the quinoa w/ the balsamic vinaigrette (I thought about posting a recipe AFTER eating up all of the lime vinaigrette salad.).

So, do you have any great quinoa recipes? If you do, please feel free to share! I’ll test some out and post them here… and I may even do a little “contest”, so share away!

Leave a Reply

